Quiet by Susan Cain

QuietHaving read many positive reviews from other bloggers, I have been intrigued by ‘Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking’ by Susan Cain for a long time.  In a world which largely values extroversion and outgoing, gregarious personalities,  it is refreshing to find a book which completely rejects all this.  Introverts of the world will rejoice.

I myself am an introvert.  I don’t thrive off being around people all the time.  I need time for myself and I need time to mentally prepare myself for social events.  I don’t have 1000 friends on Facebook.  I am not a risk-taker.  I don’t enjoy teamwork and I don’t believe it necessarily brings better results.  The fact that I will probably have to deny all of this when filling out graduate job applications in the next few months seriously depresses me.  ‘Quiet’, however, reminds me that I’m not alone.

Cain defines being an introvert separately from being shy, serious and sensitive.  Even though these traits do often occur together or overlap, introverts can still have strong social skills but they may just not feel like being sociable all the time.  Cain reminds us that some of our most celebrated inventors, writers and politicians are introverted by nature.  She isn’t necessarily critical of extroverts but merely reminds us that introversion is often overlooked in a society which is generally geared towards the Extrovert Ideal.

Cain’s book itself is an accomplished and detailed piece of research which is still highly readable in spite of its thoroughness.   It addresses a lot of different aspects of life as an introvert from childhood to the workplace and sends out a clear message that quieter personalities are not inferior and deserve recognition for the strengths they bring.  The range of sources from anecdotes, case studies and references from scientific journals is particularly impressive.  I do think, however, that human personality is extremely complex and introversion is just one of many aspects of it.  Cain is sometimes guilty of overgeneralising the features of introversion.  Not all introverts are naturally intuitive and not all extroverts are good at public speaking.

‘Quiet’ is not a self-help book but it should still be reassuring for any introverts out there, perhaps even a revelation for those who feel particularly misunderstood.  However, this book isn’t just for those who prefer solitude – extroverts would also gain a lot of insight from reading it too.  

12 Comments

Filed under Books

12 responses to “Quiet by Susan Cain

  1. Great review! I just finished this one and I’m about to review it too – you hit everything spot on, and I’m glad that a fellow introvert enjoyed the book as much as I did.

    Like

  2. Yes! This book brings such relief to introverts. I am an introvert also, and this book gave me a lot of insight into issues I struggled with all my life. Highly recommend it.

    Like

  3. I’ve had this on my shelf for a few months, and it’s finally made it to my Bedside Pile. I’m looking forward to reading it even more now.

    Like

  4. Great review! As an introvert I’ve been drawn to reading Quiet for a while but I was hesitant because I thought it might be a bit self-help. But your review’s convinced me that I should read it.

    Like

  5. I was worried about its readability, but you seem quite satisfied in that regard. I’ll just wait for it to come out in paperback.

    Like

  6. Sounds interesting. Thanks.

    Like

  7. I loved this book. When I saw it in the bookstore, I immediately had to have it. It’s not self help but it helped my anyway. It sort of helped me to stop feeling guilty about not being more of an extrovert. Definitely great book.

    Like

  8. “I myself am an introvert. I don’t thrive off being around people all the time. I need time for myself and I need time to mentally prepare myself for social events. I don’t have 1000 friends on Facebook. I am not a risk-taker. I don’t enjoy teamwork and I don’t believe it necessarily brings better results”

    Oh God, that’s just me, that is just what I believe in!

    Like

  9. Enjoyed your comments and I thought the book was helpful and encouraging, since I’m an introvert too. I hope the extroverts do read it since it is definitely enlightening for all and impacts relationships.

    Like

  10. This book has interested me for a long time, but I don’t think I’ll read it after all. I am an introvert, and I appreciate a book that raises awareness of the value of introverts to society, but I don’t think I need to read the book to understand that point. What I really want however is to read is a book that will show me how to be a celebrated writer!

    Like

  11. Ooh, I need to check this one out

    Like

  12. Pingback: The 2013 End of Year Book Survey | A Little Blog of Books and Other Stuff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.